SXSW DAY 4!

Another amazing day and night. Many many too many meetings and meet ups, but it was great to see everyone out in force and share stories from the shows thus far.

First up was Lo Moon at youtube where I met up with Conrad Schuman from Beautiful Machines, then over to see the most buzzed about artist of SXSW, Maggie Rogers… although she is VERY new to the scene (a video of her playing a song for Pharrell made her an overnight star) she did not disappoint, I’m really excited to hear more from her!

Yesterday was also a great day to catch bands we’ve licensed recently. From Tall Heights (I am a witness/Ad council) playing at Sony to Gogo Penguin (Adobe stolen masterpieces) at St, David’s Sanctuary. It’s an incredible feeling experiencing this music in a live setting, and the bands did not disappoint! 

And then I had my face RIPPED OFF by ho9909. 

Yes, the amazing experimental rap/hardcore act from LA  has had an impressive run this year, their first night show at I❤️comix ended after the second song when a riot broke out in the club… last nights show at buffalo billiards wasn’t any different, except the show played out in full. I got toasty crushed by the band twice… they were stage diving into my face, I swear it. So good, I can’t imagine anything beating the energy and chaos of that set… maybe “show me the body” will come close? 

Maggie Rogers

Tall Heights

Gogo Penguin

Cherry Glazerr 

Ho99o9

Leave a Reply

